Baudhanath, I will return to you again

(The following is an attempt to translate a Bengali poem of mine: আবার ও ফিরে আসব বৌধনাথ)

Baudhanath, I will return to you again
to circumambulate around you.
I will return again-
to tell some earnest secrets.
And to make some trustful promises.
I will return again.

Thinking I would come to circumambulate a few times,
I will do so many times instead.
I will get immersed in the intoxicating smell of
incense, butter lamps, and people’s sweat.

The soliloquy of hundreds of people chanting mantras
would seem like an obscure whisper.
I will keep going round and round, in a circular fashion,
just like the Earth moving around the sun in its own orbit.

Because my walking is not as well-regulated as the orbit of the Earth,
my steps might deviate from the path.
Some unplanned thoughts might distract my senses,
Or the seeming intensity of a familiar person’s intimacy
may enchant me to some illusory thoughts again.

If my slow and melancholic steps interrupt –
the prostrations of a firm, fervent, and faithful old devotee
I will beg forgiveness from you following the prescribed ways,
yet again.

Leave a comment